skip navigation

Volleyball Releases 2018 Schedule

Volleyball Releases 2018 Schedule

DEFIANCE, Ohio - The Defiance College volleyball program released its 2018 schedule on Wednesday afternoon featuring several top ranked opponents. 

The Purple and Gold will open the season with the annual Ohio Northern Invitational on Friday, Aug. 31 and Saturday, Sept. 1. The Yellow Jackets will take on Case Western Reserve and Bluffton University on Friday, followed by top ranked opponents Ohio Northern and Carnige Mellon on Saturday. 

Defiance will then travel to Albion on Wednesday, Sept. 5 before competing at the Case Western Invitational on Friday, Sept. 7 and Saturday, Sept. 8. The Invitational will feature matchups with Hiram, Capital and Case Western.

The Yellow Jacket home opener will take place on Tuesday, Sept. 11 when they welcome Heidelberg to the Karl H. Weaner Center. 

DC rounds out the top half of its 24 game schedule at North Park on Friday, Sept. 21 and Saturday, Sept. 22 taking on Greenville, St. Mary's (Ind.), North Park (Ill.) and Benedictine (Ill.). 

Defiance opens Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference action on Tuesday, Sept. 25 at Franklin before closing out the nonconference portion of its schedule on Saturday, Sept. 29 at Adrian.

The Purple and Gold return home for a brief home stint on Sunday, Sept. 30 and Wednesday, Oct. 3 taking on Hanover and Earlham before returning to the road for a conference matchup with Mt. St. Joseph on Saturday, Oct. 6.

The Yellow Jackets close out the season with a split schedule welcoming area rival Bluffton on Wednesday, Oct. 10 and Transylvania on Saturday, Oct. 13. They then travel to Manchester and Anderson before closing out the regular season at home on Saturday, October 27 with a tri-match against Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology and Kenyon.