Santen Wins Shot Put at Dick Small Invitational
Friday, February 10, 2017

DEFIANCE, OHIO - Junior Cassidy Santen (Woodridge, Ill./Downers Grove North) captured the shot put to lead the Defiance College women's track & field team at the Dick Small Invitational at the George M. Smart Center.  As a team, the Yellow Jackets placed fourth overall. 

Junior Danielle Robbins (Westland, Mich./Wayne Memorial) finished second in her heat in the 60-meter dash prelims, qualifying her for the finals. In the finals, Robbins ran a time of 8.45 seconds to place sixth overall.

Other top finishes in the running events, included freshman Melia Ferry (Milford) who placed eighth in the 400-meter dash with a mark of 1:08.21.

Senior Aaron Textor (Swanton) took 12th place in the 800-meter run with a time of 2:55.31.

The 4x200 squad including teammates Robbins, junior Laura Lutzke (Williamston, Mich./Williamston), Ferry and freshman Katie Settich (Huber Heights,/Charminade-Julienne) finished first with a time of 1:56.96.

In the field events, Santen had a throw of 36' 11.73" in the shot put to take top honors. In addition to Santen, senior Katie Tilman (Miami Springs, Fla./Immaculata-LSalle) placed fourth (36' 6.25") and junior teammate Brooke Waidelich (Pettisville) placed 12th following a toss of 32' 5.50". Rounding out the DC competitors was senior Colby Heeter (Bloomsbury) who placed 20th with a throw of 27' 8.75".

In the weight throw, Santen, Waidelich and junior Hannah Williams (Swanton) finished back-to-back-to-back.  Santen placed fourth with a mark of 44' 7.00".  Waidelich placed fifth with a mark of 44' 1.50" and Williams was sixth at 43' 10.50". In addition, two additional Yellow Jackets placed in the top-10 in Tilman who finished eighth overall (41' 5.75") and freshman Maddi Bowman (Eaton) followed right behind in ninth place (40' 8.75").

Members of the women's track & field team with travel to Westerville, Ohio for the annual All-Ohio Championships tomorrow (Saturday, Feb. 11) hosted by Otterbein University.  The meet is scheduled to begin at noon.